Established in 1970

A Friendly Society

Educational Content

ESA Educational Initiatives 

The ESA is committed to advancing the quality of science teaching across all educational levels. In line with this objective, the organization presents the Science Teacher of the Year award. Members of the ESA have the privilege of nominating candidates for this award by submitting the nominee’s accomplishments to the Secretary. Additionally, the ESA sponsors monetary awards at high school science fairs for projects related to electrostatics. 

To honor outstanding contributions to the field of electrostatics, the ESA has established the Electrostatics Hall of Fame, which is maintained at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia. Periodically, the ESA elect scientists to the Hall of Fame in recognition of their exceptional contribution to the knowledge or application of electrostatics.